work experience

Work Placement No.2🍰

My second Work Placement was with Kathleen Crossans Cakes. This placement was very different from my first, although I loved it just as much.

One amongst many of my favourite things about this placement,was learning about how my employer Kathleen, begun her self owned business. I learned how she started, what she does to advertise it, and the history behind why she wanted to start it. Not only that she showed me the process of making wedding cakes. They are honestly the most beautiful cakes I’ve seen, and the taste even better. She uses very large baking equipment to make the cakes, which took me a while to get used to. She also taught me how to make flowers made out of icing, which she puts around her cake. They are quite hard to get the hang of, but once I did I found it very therapeutic.

  

I also helped Kathleen at one of her Wedding Fairs which is one of the places where she advertises her business and gets clients. It was such a gorgeous event. I honestly loved every second of this placement and I would do it all over again in a heartbeat. Learning about the craft of the cakes was so interesting although what I really loved was talking to Kathleen about her business. It taught me so much and she is such a thoughtful, genuine, and hardworking woman.

Leave a Reply

